She was born this way

Thanks to everyone who weighed in on the wedding song conundrum. Pending Special Someone’s approval, I’ve narrowed it down to two options:

~an interpretive dance to “Leather & Lace” by Stevie Nicks and Don Henley, with costume design assistance from Spencer Gifts and Victoria’s Secret’s “Sexy Little Bride” line

or

~”2 become 1″ by the Spice Girls, sung a capella by attendees in Teletubbies costumes. As fellow Vicar of Dibley fans (this group includes my future father-in-law!) will recall, Alice Tinker thought of it first.

We are still looking for more up-tempo songs to add to the playlist, which we will hand over to a very forgiving DJ. My mother has already put in her rather unmatronlike requests. Excerpted from an email:

“I’ve thought of just two songs that I have to have and I won’t ask for any more; Poker Face by Lady Gaga and Disturbia by Rhiana.  They are great dance songs and I’m going to be getting my groove on out there! Love, Mom”

I hope Lady Gaga gave a shout-out at her Verizon Center show last night to her newest fan base: Momsters.

2 Comments on “She was born this way”

  1. Mom says:

    Horrors! We are now going to have to keep this blog of yours a secret. I do have lots of other great song ideas for you but I’m restraining myself in my matronlike way. Just let me know if you’d like to hear them. By the way, is the title of this article referring to the lyrics of a song or a particular person? Feeling worried.

  2. skepticbride says:

    Sorry, Ma, I didn’t mean no harm. I thought your email was cute! I really do want to hear more suggestions – just so I can tell my reading audience about them. ANYTHING for something to blog about, Mom. The title of the article refers to another Lady Gaga song, so I guess you are not that huge a fan.


Leave a Reply

