Self Improvement

One of the best things about planning a wedding is that it forces one to think more seriously about self-improvement. One of the worst things about planning a wedding is that it forces one to think more seriously about self improvement.

I’ve always found the term “self improvement” a bit too synonymous with “self indulgence” and “self absorption.” (As a blogger I am really one to talk – ha!) It doesn’t help that I dated a guy, briefly, who told me with a straight face that self improvement was the number one most important thing in life. That may have been a more admirable statement if his methods for improving himself extended beyond weightlifting and social climbing. And for all his talk about personal betterment, he did not even keep soap anywhere in his apartment. I know this because when I tried to wash my hands, the only soap substitute available was his roommate’s Noxzema face wash. That guy was also disgusting, but at least he made no claims to be a self-improver – that I know of, anyway.

Even though I tend to call B.S. on most attempts at self improvement, this upcoming wedding has indeed forced me to think about changes I should make to some of my habits. The reason for these changes is rooted in superficiality — I just want to look good at my wedding! — but hopefully they will have an impact lasting beyond July 30th. (We’ll see if they even last beyond these particularly self improvement-heavy last few weeks.) One of those changes, which I talked about in the last post, is wearing make-up. I feel better when I wear it and I look more professional, but I usually just don’t take the time to put it on. Hopefully I will start (though that’s a very optimistic “hopefully” when the alarm goes off on any given weekday morning).

I am also doing my best to eat a little less and move a little more. The “eating less” part doesn’t come too easily to me, for just as self-improvement was that hygiene-deficient toolbag’s foremost concern, food is my foremost concern. I basically plan my whole life around my next meal. Conveniently enough, I love to cook and have a pretty good understanding of what you should and shouldn’t eat (and tend to be somewhat evangelical about it – just ask Special Someone, who permanently gave up fish sticks, an old weeknight staple of his, shortly after he met me). So, since this post will otherwise be way too long, I’m taking the opportunity to revive my old food blog, The Economical Epicurean, for a discussion of the pre-wedding diet*. If you’re curious about it, click here. If not, I don’t really blame you – self-improvement is a load of crap.

*Said diet is like all diets in that it claims to not be a diet: just “small lifestyle changes,” with recipes included.

**If I may toot my own horn a bit, The Economical Epicurean, by some fluke, is now ranked 5th on this list of the top 50 cheap food blogs. There are a lot of great blogs on that list, so color me flattered! (And also mystified, as I hardly ever update any more.)

Stupid question: does anyone know how to make the font smaller on WordPress? I’m sure it’s quite obvious, but of course I can’t figure it out. These asterisked items should appear in a smaller font.

6 Comments on “Self Improvement”

  1. Sheena says:

    I’d argue that it’s the whole “until death” vow thing that drives the self-improvement, not as much the “look pretty for the wedding” part. Though that’s what the industry pushes.

  2. kathleen says:

    if you go into the html view, you can shrink the text by putting these as bookends around the text you want to make smaller:

    That’s how I do it, at least! hope it works for you.

  3. kathleen says:

    also, totally following your food blog now. I got married last may and thought that I had landed at my happy weight around then because I maintained where I was for a long time… but then the holidays and a job hunt hit and threw me off earlier this year. Now I’m trying to form good, lasting habits (e.g. getting into a routine of cooking dinner most nights and exercising regularly) and find my happy place again. looking forward to reading more!

  4. kathleen says:

    hm, that’s weird. i’ll just email you the script that magically disappeared when I posted it… i think i probably just shrank the ellipsis. 🙂

  5. kathleen says:

    last attempt. first part goes before, second part goes after.

  6. The REAL Kathleen says:

    Love your posts Di! I can’t believe it took me this long to find them! I wish I could write like you, but I seem to lapse into stream of conscience whenever my fingers hit the keyboard. Had a great weekend and see you soon! 🙂
    K


Leave a Reply

